The work of the Centre has received interest and recognition in South Africa and from international observers:

 ■ The late Professor Tony Mathews, the founder and first Director of CCJ, was given an honorary doctorate of law at the University of the Witwatersrand for his commitment to justice and human rights for all in South Africa in 1993. He was also a Fellow of Clare Hall, Cambridge University.

 ■ In 1999, Winnie Kubayi, the DireWinnie awardctor of CCJ, was nominated to the Ashoka fellowship for her work in justice and human rights. Winnie was recognised as a leading innovator in her field and joins over sixty other fellows in Southern Africa.

Founded in 1980, Ashoka is a world association of leading social entrepreneurs and has pioneered a new social investment approach to advance the emerging profession of social entrepreneurship. Ashoka has invested in more than 3000 fellows in over forty-two countries around the world, and is the first global association of and for social entrepreneurs.

■ Winnie received a Platinum Impumelelo Innovations Award in 2001 for providing access to justice for women and children within KwaZulu-Natal. This award recognises innovations in government and public-private pThabisile awardartnerships that reduce poverty and address national developmental issues.

■ In 2002, Winnie also received a Special Award for a graduate and employee of the University of KwaZulu-Natal who has contributed significantly to their field. The award honours those alumni who bring distinction to themselves and their university through their achievements.

■ The Centre won the third annual Age of Innovation and Sustainability Award, in the category of "Excellence in Innovation and Sustainability: Public Sector/NGO". This award aims to identify South Africa's most innovative and sustainable projects.

■ The Centre for Public Service Innovation (CPSI) Inaugural Award was bestowed on CCJ in 2003 for contributing to improved delivery of services to South African citizens. The CPSI Awards is an initiative of the Minister for Public Service and Administration (

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved